12,000 NC JOBS: YOUR CALL TO ACTION.

This is statewide! Go gather up all the film supporters and job advocates in Asheville, Charlotte, Raleigh, Greensboro, Winston-Salem and everywhere in between.  Please SHARE this with everyone!

The Senate still has not confirmed whether or not they will be in a full session to discuss some serious matters at hand.  Have these 50 members  forgotten why they ran for the opportunity to represent us?  Meanwhile, while they continue to gavel in and gavel out with nothing on their calendar, over 25,000 people who live in North Carolina, are struggling with a decision to leave the state, layoff workers, file for unemployment, look for new ways to supplement their income or look for other employment which is already extremely difficult.  These are the folks that are affected by the film industry and others who work for companies that are depending on money that is waiting to be voted on.

The Senate MUST come together with the House and finish what they started.

Sen. Bill Rabon stood on that stage in Wilmington during the 2014 NC Film Rally and pledged his devotion and loyalty to the NC Film Industry. More than a 1,000 of us witnessed it.  We appreciate the safety net that he has given us, however, we all know it’s not a sustainable solution.  Let me remind you that I have not posted a new production that is coming to NC in quite a while. We should have had at least one but more like 3 announcements by this time.

On the outskirts of the budget that has already been signed, waiting patiently inside S763, is Ted Davis’ Amendment, a lower Tier 1, one year extension of the film incentives. We all know we cannot do business with the Grant.

Without the Senate taking session, here’s what else is on the line.

  • Two proposed manufacturing plants and their 1,400 jobs that the Commerce Department is seeking will not come.
  • The EPA will close the plant in Canton laying off 1,200 workers.
  • The elimination of a major recruitment tool, JDIG.  This will effectively take NC out of the job recruitment business for one year. If past performance is a guide, this will cost 6,000 jobs just in the recruits the Secretary is engaged with now.

8,600 jobs. Add film in the equation and you get a total of 12,000 that are at stake.

It is up to us, North Carolina, to ask our Senate leaders to go back to session and do what they promised to do when they got elected. Put People BEFORE Politics. Create and sustain jobs.

Please contact your Senators NOW!

Be nice!  Be Polite!  Do NOT give them any reason to say film supporters are crazy lunatics! And please use your own words.  Here’s the gist of it:

“Please, get your team back into session. Jobs are on the line. The job creation legislation already approved by the House and Governor McCrory. We need 763, and my job will rely on Ted Davis’ amendment to extend the film incentives.”

Wilmington Area: 

Bill Rabon is the co-chair of the finance committee. He has a seat at the big table, and he has the power to sway the Senate leadership to get back into session.

Bill Rabon.

BILL RABON
Phone: (919) 733-5963
Email: Bill.Rabon@ncleg.net

Asheville area:

Tom Apodaca. You guys have more than film on the line for you.  Including 1,200 jobs at risk in Canton, NC alone.

TOM APODACA
(919) 733-5745
Email: Tom.Apodaca@ncleg.net

 

Charlotte area: 

JOEL FORD
(919) 733-5955
Email: Joel.Ford@ncleg.net

JEFF JACKSON
(919) 715-8331
Email: Jeff.Jackson@ncleg.net

BOB RUCHO
(919) 733-5655
Email: Bob.Rucho@ncleg.net

FLETCHER HARTSELL
(919) 733-7223
Email: Fletcher.Hartsell@ncleg.net

JEFF TART
(919) 715-3050
Email: Jeff.Tarte@ncleg.net

 

Raleigh area:
NEAL HUNT
(919) 733-5850
Email: Neal.Hunt@ncleg.net

JOSH STEIN
(919) 715-6400
Email: Josh.Stein@ncleg.net

DAN BLUE
(919) 733-5752
Email: Dan.Blue@ncleg.net

 

Greensboro  area: 

GLADYS ROBINSON
(919) 715-3042
Email: Gladys.Robinson@ncleg.net

 

Winston-Salem area:
JOYCE KRAWIEC
(919) 733-7850
Email: Joyce.Krawiec@ncleg.net

 

All of North Carolina: 

PHIL BERGER
(919) 733-5708
Email: Phil.Berger@ncleg.net

Remind them why they ran for the opportunity to represent us. They speak for us.

All of North Carolina:

CONTACT YOUR NORTH CAROLINA SENATOR NOW!

Advertisements

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: THE WILMYWOOD DAILY – 08/13/2014 Johnny Pemberton coming to town, Marketplace highlights Film Incentives, Film Foto and more. | The Wilmywood Daily

  2. Pingback: THE WILMYWOOD DAILY – 08/14/2014 Cullen Moss is Reckless, Locations, Fate of Film and more. | The Wilmywood Daily

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s